Poem Sleep

If you are tired
Write anyway.
I am falling asleep to the song of myself again.

So many things get written
In so many bedrooms
Before sleep.

I was twelve once
And still love a dark room.

There is religion in a pink sky
Ambitious as New York.

God sounds like rain
On a quiet river.

Most of my body is giving itself over
To forget the parts of today
That my mind blinks my eyes awake to.

You are a lullaby as much as a drum skin. My back is angry at the sleep it isn’t getting.

I lay on a bed in a city.
Around me, poems
Write themselves
Til I listen.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem Sleep

  1. I was going to highlight a few lines until it became difficult to decide on which ones. Great piece, really.

    “I was twelve once
    And still love a dark room.”

    Yup.

Leave a Reply

