What the Road Wakes #ontheroad #summertime

I haven’t forgotten, but I’d be lying if I said I remembered right away.
It was confusing. I remember that. And now, after thinking, I remember the police and wondering what you were so afraid of.
I always want to ask two questions.
It never seems like the right time.
The car ran out of gas.
No one drowned.
I showed up in Pennsylvania drunk and slept near the dock in an electric blue tube. I don’t remember anyone’s name.
Why this comes to me now, in Blanchester, Ohio, at 10:26 pm in the room with the sewing machine and the yellow quilt and the window, in the room where I’m meant to sleep,
I cannot say.
I have kept track, not of the days, but of the times I felt myself remembering.
There was an open door in a bar downtown that you never shadowed, and we almost drove through Chicago.
The bread is soft and white here.
I’ve been thinking about Wyoming.
I can’t get those goddamn horses
out of my mind. You should have seen them,
brown and white Appaloosa, chestnut thoroughbred and a grey Arabian that I swear was a ghost.
The road runs through me, even now, under pale pink sheets in a room in Ohio.
I almost hear sirens, feel the growl of your engine waiting to downshift.
A storm turned the sky black at 5 pm today. The hot air lifted and we pulled in the white lawn chairs that had blown in front of the garage.
The storm did not rack the tiny town like I wanted it too.
I am not cruel, but the road has been teasing me, lulling me.
It rained, and cleared, and the heat crept back.
Tomorrow we wake, and dress, and drive east again.

20120629-225316.jpg

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Poetry, Summer, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What the Road Wakes #ontheroad #summertime

  1. kolembo says:

    That’s really good stuff, so many turns of phrase, image against movement, it’s very engaging. If feel sort of stuck between spaces…between the sky and the ground in a thunderstorm.

    You write, and write and write, I’m so envious – so disciplined! It shows, your writing it really broad.

Leave a Reply

