Prayer of my heart in June.


My heart is a castle on water,
His promises are true when I wake.
I am dark and lovely as a shadow,
He is found in the caverns by the sea.
My hope is a dove before storm breaks.
My God lives in the clouds and the thunder.
I am afraid in my smallness.
His mercy rises new with the sun.
My doubts are an army against me,
I am mocked by lurking beasts in the night.
Who will defend me against my enemies?
My deep cries out to His deep.
He takes me to the desert with a whisper,
My God lived before darkness knew light.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer of my heart in June.

  1. I love that last line “My God lived before darkness knew light” so evocative! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

