Today My Heart Is

I like how the words
and my heart is the teal waterproof coat
draped over the armchair,
the heating pipe behind the couch that
scorches necks and stretching arms,
the aloe plant black with rot
sitting on top of the unused
airconditioner unit in the window,
the kryptonite bike chain wrapped
around leg of butcher block,
my mother’s valentine,
my empty toothpaste tube
that’s still in the medicine cabinet,
my dying phone,
my dinner making,
my shoes,
my socks,
my insides out,
my bed,
my books,
my bike.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

