A Psalm of Insomnia

I could not lay awake in bed another hour,
so I sought the Lord whom I love,
and in my insomnia He met me.

I unrolled my yoga mat on the creaky
wood floor of our living room
and did situps until my stomach burned.

I could not hear another helicopter
roar above me, so I crawled out of bed
and sought the Lord half heartedly.
I read Psalms and drank water.

I took Melatonin and closed my eyes.
I counted my breaths and my heart pounded
louder. Who am I that sleep should leave me?
What will I do when my alarm rings
before the sun rises?

Today I will be tired. The Lord met me
in my waking but sleep would not come
with asking.

What the hell is wrong with me?
I cannot control my tongue when I am tired.
I am tired.

I sought the Lord whom I love
and He gave me angels.
I talked to the angels and still
could not sleep.

My soul waits for you to close
my eyes dear Jesus. It is 3 am
and the sleep just won’t come.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment