Forecast

Should I ride today?
I put my bike under the tarp last night

mud splattered coat
near the laundry

but who can ever tell
if it will rain,

and if that rain will
be too much to ride through?

It is almost December
and people are still eating
in the outside cafe.

The 99% is thankful
for global warming
in a quiet way.

I miss my sister.
Her hair curls around
curls
around curls.

She has gentle hands
and works at a department store
upstate. She hates being cold.

I’d better take my bike out,
it might not rain at all.

And if it does,
while I’m on the Hudson

well, I’ve certainly been
wrong before.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in fall, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forecast

  1. empressalice says:

    i like it. its simple but good. i especially enjoyed the last two lines:)

  2. Zachary says:

    I think you’re safe! No rain right now…

Leave a Reply

