24 of 31. Should

I should be sleeping.
Caitie is putting the dishes away,

Sarah has forgotten about the eggs boiling on the stove.
I know this, because I can hear her talking in the shower.

Kate is in California, drinking spiced cider
and wearing red lips for the last day of
October. We remind each other of summer.

I should be finishing my midterms.
Laura is sleeping, quiet quiet.
Fish is cleaning up from the bonfire
we had earlier.

Miriam is in California. Eating Filipino
food her dad made, I can almost hear
her laugh from here.

I hope she won’t be mad when she finds out
I pushed the airconditioner out the window.
It was so cold and I haven’t had a voice for
a week.

I should be going now. It’s getting late,
I am still sitting on the couch near the front door
waiting.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

