5 of 31. Dosage

I am swallowing books and medicine together.

Milosz’s Confession and some small black pills

Jenny says are from Thailand.

I’m not sure if either are helping,

but what could they hurt?

I’ve read Triggering Town,

A Poetry Handbook, and The Imperfectionist

this week, and I’ve gargled with warm salt water

before bed.

I read Hemingway’s Killers for class this morning,

and took whatever yellow pills Fish gave me as I was leaving.

Thank you Robert Creeley for your Wicker Basket,

and thank you Sarah for boiling the water for my

Thera Flu.  The crosstown bus lurched and I couldn’t

finish Babel’s Crossing Into Poland.

The express 2 pulled up and I could hardly

hold my food down. Does garlic help

if you’re sick from acetaminophene?  How about reading

Adrienne Rich?

I’ve taken more than I know what to do with

this time,

I think the medicine is bruising my

brain.

I can’t take one more pill,

or swallow one more short story,

I think the books gave my throat

papercuts.

 

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in 30 in 30, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 of 31. Dosage

  1. Zachary says:

    I really like these daily poems.

Leave a Reply

