Slow slow

So much has happened since we last spoke.

The rain beat on my window all

last night.

If only sleep was the answer.

My body is full of unused energy;

I walk slow on the balls of my feet.

I was always bare feet and blisters,

I wear socks now sometimes.

I’m turning into something.

So much has happened since we spoke.

I read and read and read

until all I could think of was the A&P

and the desert.

I’m not trying to hide,

aren’t we all?

The music lifts

itself out of the speakers

near the couch.

the fridge hums its light

open.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow slow

  1. Alia S says:

    Beautifully brief. Thank you for sharing this 🙂
    Take a look at my blog !

Leave a Reply

