4 of 30. Before I was sober and vegan

I ate beef patties, drank old english

and in the morning I wanted eggs.

Sandwiches are different these days.

They used to be turkey and brie on baguette.

Tuna or egg salad with mayo on toasted white bread.

Now it’s sprouts, avocado, tomatoes, and onions,

or grilled eggplant, zucchini, butternut squash, and portabellas

on sprouted wheat berry bread.

I used to wind down with pinot noir and wake up

with coffee.

Now I sleep when I’m tired

and wake up when it’s morning.

I’m not saying I don’t miss bacon.

Or mojitos.

Or ice cream.

But roasted plantains

and mango sorbet aren’t bad.

I’m not saying I don’t miss smoking my pipe

on the roof late at night.

But I’ve got my bike ride along the hudson

when I feel like flying.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in 30 in 30, Food, Poetry, vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 4 of 30. Before I was sober and vegan

  1. j says:

    i love this, Amy!

  2. j says:

    this is wonderful, Amy!

  3. Jacob Victorine says:

    Wonderful ending and a very smooth rhythm throughout.

  4. Tina says:

    happened to bump into this… it’s beautiful amy!

Leave a Reply

