Daniel Fast for Lent

I decided to do the Daniel Fast for Lent, and thought it would be a piece of cake because I am already sober and vegan for the year.  For any of you thinking of doing it, it is not a piece of cake.  It feels like going into the wilderness hungry. That’s why I used the photograph I did. It was taken this summer on a wilderness training course I went through, which was amazing, but uncomfortable. We ate what we carried, we slept on the ground.  It was simple and beautiful. Being uncomfortable was what I needed then, which makes it  a little bit easier to bear with now.

Plus, I do things to make it fun.  I’m not sure if this is the point, but I have been having a a ball concocting really delicious recipes, and in fact, thinking about them hours before eating.  Not being able to have honey or sugar is really what’s getting me at this point, but my hope is that this sweet tooth craving shall pass, or I will learn something new from not getting my immediate wants met with indulgence.  If you are on the Daniel Fast, or have been, or are thinking about it, I’d love to hear thoughts.  Here is the general layout.

The fast is outlined in Daniel 10:2-3

2 In those days I Daniel was mourning three full weeks. 3 I ate no pleasant bread, neither came flesh nor wine in my mouth, neither did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.

Here are FOODS TO EAT:

Fruits- fresh, dried, canned, frozen

Vegetables- fresh, dried, canned, frozen

Legumes-canned or dried

Quality Oils- Olive, Sesame, Canola, Coconut, Peanut, Grapeseed

Herbs, Spices, Salt, Pepper, Seasonings, Soy Products, Tofu

And FOODS TO AVOID:

Animal products- meat, fish, animal lard

Dairy- milk, eggs, yoghurt, cheese

Any sweeteners- sugar, honey, agave, molasses, splenda, other artificial sweeteners

Leavened bread and yeast-baked goods (including Ezekiel bread)

Deep fried foods- chips, fries

Solid fats-lard, margarine, shortening

Beverages-coffee, alcohol, energy drinks, carbonated beverages, energy drinks, tea

I’ll try to put up some recipes soon, and in the meantime, my friend Lucas sent me this link to the NY times, which has great vegan recipes for lent!

Happy Lent!

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Food, Photography by Amy Leigh Cutler, Poetry, vegan, Writing Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daniel Fast for Lent

  1. kate says:

    you’re going to weight three pounds when this is all over.

  2. kate says:

    ugh, weigh*

  3. Andy says:

    good luck amy. ill pray for your success in fasting. ive never been very good at it because im not very tolerant of physical discomfort. i guess i should try to learn how to be more so so i can experience richness of depth with God through physical trials. now im gonna go take an aspirin, eat a big lunch and take a nap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

