Is Writing like Shitting?

I’ve been going to as many open mics and poetry readings as possible since I’ve been back.  There is a thriving spoken word community in New York.  A collection of poets beyond the wildest imaginations. And they share their work with one another.  I feel out of place.  I want to talk about words, create and recreate, rehash old works and work on new pieces but writing is lonely.  Private.  I haven’t found balance.  I feel like pushing myself to explore the public realm with my words is like defecating in the living room.  My writing happens when I am alone and furious.  My writing happens when I am alone and giddy.  My writing happens every day, and it happens when I am alone. Is writing like shitting?  Is it a necessary but private part of my life that I need to do to survive and will never quite understand?  Writing might be like shitting for me.  I do it every day.  I recycle what I have digested.  When I take in good things, I feel better later.  I am regular.  Shitting and writing are lonely auspices, but I cannot escape them else I die.  They are similar, but not the same. For instance, I use paper for both, but for very different reasons.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Writing like Shitting?

  1. Andy O. says:

    so wait…now it’s the essentials redefined…

    eating,
    sleeping,
    pooping,
    …writing.

    Got it 🙂

Leave a Reply

