Making It

I started this blog to track my progress.

I started this blog to see if I could make it.

I am not sure if I have made progress.

I am less sure of what making it will ever look like.

I am 22 years old.

I have been a waitress for 8 years, and I don’t usually hate it.

Unless they ask for lemons.

My brain thinks that airplanes are for sleeping, so I am out before the stewardess points to the exits.

Stewardesses are like waitresses that don’t get tipped.

I’ve written a book.  It’s even published.

I serve people pad thai and spicy coconut chicken soup.

Home is starting to be my default place.

That is backwards from most of my life.

I swam in the hudson river yesterday.

I was surprised that it was salt water and cut my knee on a barnacle.

I like the word barnacle.

One day I will wonder what the hell I’ve done with my life.

I might have written 5 books by then, and they might all be published.

There are children that wake up hungry every morning.

Where do dreams come from?

I started writing because I was afraid of being forgotten.

I started writing because I wondered if I existed.

There are wars and floods and fires and rapes happening now.

I wonder if I will ever know what making it really looks like.

I serve food to fat people.

I am 22 years old and does beauty matter?

The word “we” makes me feel less alone.

These circles get smaller and smaller.

About amyleighcutler

Writer, dancer, vagabond extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making It

  1. Andy O. says:

    i really like this one. being reflective is good, and youve got a real gift for sharing it. thanks for blessing me with perspective. youre in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

